D1 Midwest Basketball Showcase
Photo: Mac Johnson Media
FeaturedMike Sautter

Teams Selected For D1 Midwest Basketball Showcase


Up to 96 teams from Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Arkansas and Oklahoma will travel to Kansas City, Kansas for the 2023 NCAA Midwest Basketball Showcase.

12 boys and 12 girls teams from Nebraska have accepted invitations to participate in the four day (June 15-16, girls; June 17-18 boys) NCAA certified event at Hy-Vee Arena. One change to the event this year is that high school teams, not individual players, were selected to participate.

The scholastic event is certified/approved by the NCAA Enforcement and Approvals Group (ECAG), the National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) and run by the state’s High School Basketball Coaches Associations. 

The process for selecting the teams from Nebraska had multiple layers. Each high school basketball coach in the state received multiple emails in March and April asking for nominations from coaches. From there a select group of high school coaches from across the state selected the 24 teams to participate in the event.

The selection committee focused on the nominated Division 1 prospect more so than the team itself. The committee ranked the nominated Division 1 prospects and extended invitations accordingly.

Nebraska was allowed up to 12 boys teams and 12 girls teams based on a formula using each participating state’s population. It should be noted some of the nominated teams were extended an invitation but for various reasons they could not accept the invitation. 

Note: The event is not open to the general public. However, players’ families are welcome to attend. 

Girls Teams 
  1. Ainsworth
  2. Bellevue West
  3. Kearney
  4. Lincoln Pius X
  5. Lincoln Southwest
  6. Malcolm
  7. Millard North
  8. Millard West
  9. Omaha Central
  10. Omaha Westside
  11. Omaha Westview
  12. Pender
Boys Teams
  1. Bellevue West
  2. Creighton Prep
  3. Fremont
  4. Gretna
  5. Kearney
  6. Lincoln Southwest
  7. Millard North
  8. Millard South
  9. Omaha Bryan
  10. Omaha North
  11. Omaha Westside
  12. Papillion-La Vista South

Omaha Central, Elkhorn North, Johnson-Brock and Lincoln Northeast are late additions to the boys teams from Nebraska.

Shot Clock Permanent in A, Approved For B

Previous article

Westside’s Jones Taking Visits, Collecting Offers

Next article

You may also like

More in Featured