Metro Softball Coaches Postseason Awards
Omaha Marian pitcher Maddia Groff. (Eric Allgood, Striv)
AchieversMike Sautter

Jensen, Groff Headline Metro Coaches POY Awards


Omaha Marian senior pitcher and Gretna junior pitcher Alexis Jensen captured the headlines with dominate performances this season.

The Omaha Metro Softball Coaches have mad the selection on their postseason awards.

Player of the Year: Maddia Groff, Marian

Groff was a four year starter at Omaha Marian. Groff had a career 1,024 strikeouts.  This year alone, she notched 307 strikeouts.  Offensively, she hit .506 with a .635 on base percentage. 

Pitcher of the Year: Alexis Jensen, Gretna

Jensen pitched over one hundred and eighty five innings in 2022. The sophomore finished the season with a 31-2 record while recording 376 strikeouts and a .71 earned run average. She also tied a NSAA record this fall, striking out twenty batters in a game against North Platte.

Freshman of the Year: Addy Burdorf, Millard West

Burdof had a 1.25 ERA with four no-hitters in the circle. At the plate, Burdof hit .325 with 27 RBI. 

Coach of the Year: Chad Perkins

Coach Perkins led Omaha Marian to the 2022 Class State title and a record of 33-2.  This is the second state title Coach Perkins has been a part of at Omaha Marian, helping guide the Crusaders to the 2015 state championship as well.  

Marian Rick Gilbride Sportsmanship Award: 

Faith Mills, Gretna 

Faith was a co-winner of the 2022 Rick Gilbride Award.  Faith was chosen for her dedication to the sport of softball, leadership within the Gretna program and ability to overcome obstacles. 

Haley Wilwerding, Papillion-La Vista

Haley was a team captain and four year starter. She is involved in many community service activities. 


Quick Glance: 8-Man First Round Playoffs

Previous article

Quick Glance: 2022 Football Playoff Projections

Next article

You may also like

More in Achievers